Being Loved for What I Love

November 18 9:17 p.m.

In a one hour and forty-five minute and ten second conversation, Elena and I linger on a live stream of the Yahoo! Catching Fire red carpet for Jennifer Lawrence but when she finally appears in her tulle dress she flees the microphones. 

November 19, 12:52 p.m.

CS: Ook sorry friend! On a happy note…there is only one day between us and hunger games!

November 21 4:44 p.m. 

CS: Almost time! I’m going to go ahead and head down now Because I haven’t had anything to eat. If you head down there early let me know! 

We have tickets for the 10:15 p.m. showing that we end up swapping for 8:45 p.m. passes. I still arrive over 2 hours early.

6:19 p.m.

EA: Hahah. Great, I’m excited for you and to discuss its social commentary. 

November 22 12:04 a.m.

HM: You just started the movie!!! Ahhh I’m so jealous! 

Sorry Heather, I’ve actually finished Catching Fire at this point sifting through its layers with Chelsea at a bar on a weeknight right now. 

12:10 a.m. 

DB: It was intense, sad, funny, depressing, heart-string-pulling, thrilling, deep. 

1:37 a.m.

HM: Don’t tell me anything. 

2:18 a.m.

CS: Had fun seeing the movie and analyzing it after 🙂 

2:43 a.m. 

HM: Mmmmm yes, in both books it’s the fact that they care and love and are vulnerable in the fact that they allow themselves to care (and be hurt) so deeply, that ultimately redeems them and gives them strength. 

HM: It’s very Judeith Butler’s theory on mourning and violence. Aha grad school life tie-in’s. 

HM: Mourning is the loss of an unknowable part of ourselves that only existed between us and another person. This deep intersubjectivity of identity makes us vulnerable to others. Our vulnerability is exploited by violence and therefore the sheer knowledge of your own vulnerability and connectedness to other will decrease your acceptance of violence. 

HM: By the same token, butler argues that the US has denied its vulnerability as a nation, hiding under the safety of its “first worldness” and allowing itself to inflict military violence abroad because itself does not seem vulnerable –because we are a nation terrified of mourning and recognizing loss. 

7:33 a.m.

MHL: How was it?

11:34 a.m.

DB: I am up for seeing the movie again if you are

1:10 p.m. 

LP: Omg Morgan. It was so good. I loved it. 

6:08 p.m. 

MG: How was hunger games???

6:47 p.m. 

SF: Ahh today?!! is coming out

6:51 

SB: I loves it! I thought it was better than the book! 

10:25 p.m. 

David and I discussed Francis Lawrence’s handling of “the locket” scene as part of our 46 minute and 25 second phone conversation. 

11:09 p.m.

Laura and I discussed agency, manipulation, PTSD, and society in our one hour, fifty-seven minutes and 49 seconds exchange that night/morning. 

Saturday, November 23, 1:17 a.m.

Heather and I professed our love for Jennifer Lawrence’s ability to convey visceral agony on screen in our nocturnal one hour and 15 minutes and ten seconds chat. 

November 24 5:33 p.m. 

KL: Morgaaaan. Please tell me you’ve seen catching fire. 

ML: Omg Kayce have you seen it? I saw it on thursday night, reread it and mockingjay earlier this month and have prob read every single article about it that exists on the web. on friday night i analyzed it in 3 phone convos from 1030-230am

KL: Hahahah yay! I was hoping you wouldn’t let me down. I saw it last night. But I haven’t read the book in forever so there’s of details I wish I would have had on my mind. I remember being upset with the first movie thinking the book was better

7:48 p.m.

MC: Did you see it?? I haven’t been able to see it yet!!

ML: David and i are going to see it in imax on wed and you are welcome to join! 

MC: There’s potential if it’s in hourglass. Hburg. 

8:23 p.m. 

EC: I still have not seen Catching Fire (ughhhhh). I’m going to see it with my sister this Wednesday and will you ASAP after I do..In the meantime, inital reactions or things to look out for/ponder? 

8:43 p.m. 

LP: Lets see it when u come??.(not guaranteeing i won’t see it again before then i dont mind a 3rd time)

9:46 p.m. 

Kevin and I compared and contrasted the first and second movie and their respective book adaptations in a 19 minute, 58 second discussion. 

 

Leave a Reply

